In Caux, within the Pézenas appellation area in Languedoc, the timeless setting of Font des Ormes and its valley sides clad with two basalt flows belies the estate’s ongoing transformation. The overriding ambition is to capture the elegant, tranquil energy of the landscape in the wines.

arrow_grey

A feeling of rediscovery

Descending upon the small valley of Sallèles, swept along by a welcome breeze, they immediately recognise a scene from childhood, an uncannily well-preserved haven. It may well even hark back to a more distant past, ancient history, tinged with the elation of the Romans who planted the first vines here. Stunned by the silence, broken only by bird song, and by the unfurling landscape reminiscent of times long gone, before the phylloxera revolution put paid to the vast swathes of vineyards now superseded by the tranquil harmony of meadows and olive groves ringed by oaks and blossoming almond trees. It is as if this long, gentle apse-like valley caressed by the wind beneath the benevolent skies, had remained untouched by modernity yet left no room for nostalgia.
Come here as custodians, maybe, but to take ownership of its heritage and ensure its future, the journey is infinitely longer…

Deciphering the landscape

Walking along the paths that wend their way amongst the mosaic of vineyards, following the lie of the land, venturing onto the black limestone plateau and entering the kaleidoscope of colours etched by the dappled light through the holm oak trees and marvelling at the fleeting dance of the rock roses and the grasses, they start to absorb and understand the landscape. They begin to gradually unravel the entangled mineral soils, the quartz carried down by the rivers on the Montagne Noire, silica from the Cevennes, polished by the ebb and flow of the Miocene sea until they embedded themselves in the carpet of blue marl and giant fossilised oysters – the “molasse dotted with sugar-coated sweets” as a geologist from another century poetically referred to it. They imagine the lava flowing into the valleys from the ancient volcano, then the very gradual erosion transforming the landform and turning it into an oblong crucible.

Awakening the soils

With the complicity of the architect Ariel Balmassière, the decrepit walls of the Mediaeval hamlet were re-clad with lime render, the timber frames were restored, the roof re-tiled and the subtle fusion of woodwork and texture recreated. The vineyard stone huts were given a new lease of life, the gardens redesigned and the lace-like outline of the tall pines began to dance once again against the ochre facades. Then, the deeply buried call of the slumbering soul could be heard. Lydia and Claude Bourguignon were invited to the hillside vineyards, to “Mexique”, the ancient plot of Carignan vines circled with irises. They marvelled with them at the rarest of bonds between the limestone and the basalt, and the promising pink of the roots. They scrupulously followed their precepts as healers of the soil, and nurtured its rebirth.
 

Wine as a catalyst for sharing

They designed the wines as a tribute, a song. Imagined the landscape as a score discovered in a museum of early music. A score they handed to young performers so that they could draw the inspiration from it to produce a fresh, vibrant, seamless version, freighted with new vibrations. Where Mourvèdre offers up the tension of a background bass, Grenache the gratifying roundness, and Carignan the familiar exotic flavour of its spices. A score where forcefulness and artifice are banished, and where the effortless temptation to yield to candied fruits is shunned. Rather, a form of austerity is chosen, a gently murmured elegance, the deeply-penetrating modesty of a Languedoc that requires patience and time, like a loyal friend.

[powr-hit-counter label=”Enter a Label”]

A Caux, dans le terroir de Pézenas, en Languedoc, la Font des Ormes vit une métamorphose dans un décor immuable, un vallon bordé de deux coulées de basalte. Ambition : refléter dans le vin l’énergie élégante et sereine du paysage.

arrow_grey

Le sentiment d’une redécouverte

Accoster là, dans le vallon de Sallèles, poussés par une brise bienveillante. Y reconnaître aussitôt une scène d’enfance, un havre étrangement préservé. Peut-être même un passé plus lointain, une histoire antique, goûtant l’allégresse des Romains qui plantèrent là les premiers ceps. Stupéfaits de n’entendre que des chants d’oiseaux, de voir se déployer un décor d’ancien régime, d’avant la révolution du phylloxéra et son déluge de vigne, avec sa sereine harmonie de champs, d’olivettes, de cordons de chênes, d’amandiers en fleurs. Comme si, dans cette longue et douce conque offerte au ciel et à la caresse des vents mais restée à l’écart de la modernité, la nostalgie n’avait pas lieu d’être.
Sentir malgré tout qu’il ne suffisait pas de se poser là en gardiens de temple pour en assumer pleinement l’héritage et veiller à sa pérennité.

Decrypter le Paysage

Marcher. Suivre simplement les chemins qui se faufilent dans la mosaïque des parcelles, épousent la pente. S’aventurer sur le causse noir, dans le kaléidoscope que dessine la lumière dans le sous-bois des chênes verts, le bal éphémère des cistes et des graminées. S’imprégner et comprendre. S’initier patiemment à l’imbroglio mineral. Les quartz charriés par les rivières de la Montagne Noire, la silice des Cévennes, polis par le flux et le reflux de la mer du Miocène afin d’incruster, dans le tapis des marnes bleues et des fossiles d’huîtres géantes, cette “mollasse à dragées” joliment baptisée par un géologue d’un autre siècle. Voir couler la lave de l’ancien volcan dans les vallées, puis la très lente érosion faire son œuvre jusqu’à inverser le relief en un creuset oblong.

Le Reveil de la Terre

Avec la complicité de l’architecte Ariel Balmassière, recrépir à la chaux les murs décatis du hameau médiéval, restaurer les charpentes, les toits de tuiles, recréer le subtil camaïeu des boiseries et des étoffes. Ranimer les masets de vigne. Redessiner les jardins. Voir à nouveau palpiter la dentelle ciselée des grands pins sur l’ocre des façades. De là, sentir l’appel souterrain du vivant engourdi. Convier alors Lydia et Claude Bourguignon, les amener à flanc de coteau, au “Mexique”, ancestrale parcelle de carignan enturbanée d’iris. S’enchanter avec eux des noces si rares du calcaire et du basalte, du rose prometteur des racines. Suivre scrupuleusement leurs préceptes de guérisseurs de sols. Encourager la renaissance.
 

Le Vin, Désir de Partage

Concevoir le vin comme un hommage. Un chant. Imaginer ce paysage comme une partition découverte dans un musée de musique ancienne. La confier à un jeune soliste, Florent Girou, afin qu’il y puise l’inspiration d’une interprétation toute fraîche, pleine d’allant, de fluidité, de vibrations nouvelles. Où le mourvèdre offrirait la tension d’une basse continue, le grenache une aimable rondeur, le carignan l’exotisme familier de ses épices. Sans jamais forcer le trait, ni céder à la séduction facile des fruits confits. Plutôt accepter une forme d’austérité, une élégance murmurée, revendiquer la pudeur pénétrante d’un Languedoc qui exige la patience et s’inscrit dans la durée. Telle une amitié fidèle.